Mindset / Wellness

End your day with beeing grateful for what you have

ThailandWhen I go to bed, I spend five minutes with just being grateful for what I have. I think of the most basic things that’s so easy to forget in our society, but is hugely important to us. Did you know for a fact that half of the world’s population are living on less than $2 a day? That if anything puts things in a perspctive. We have so much in the Western world to be grateful for, that we take for granted.

I start my eavening meditation with being grateful for my five senses. I thank for my eyes, my mouth, my ears and nose. I thank for my body, for all the things I can do with it and for the fact that I have feelings, good or bad.

I then think about my family and start going through all of my friends, one at a time. This just makes me smile from ear to ear. Even though I have relationships that are not that good, I’m glad that they are motivating me to be a better person and for challenging me in areas I haven’t yet developed. We will not get along with everybody, but it’sa huge step foreward to realize that we’re all doing our best from our own situation.

After thinking about the people I have in my life, I thank for the fact that I have somewhere to live, for my clothes, for my food and that I have a passion in life to follow. I’m so glad that I have the opportunity to take photographs, study health and develop myself to become a stronger person.

So, what are you grateful for in life? I bet there’s a lot more than you can ever imagine! A good start is to just write down every single thing you can think of, from your residence to your family, friends, work, passions, what makes you laugh and your senses. And then end your day with meditating about what you have. You will notice changes in your life, I certanly did. I started doing this when I went through a tough time in my life and I do this several times a week, in the eavning, after ending a yoga session or whenever I feel I have to shift my thoughts. When I’m down, I really allow myself to be sad and then shift my thoughts to something I appreciate. This gives me a perspective, makes me easier at mind and more aware of what I’m going through in life. We’re often spending our day comparing ourselves to everybody else and not seeing what we truly have in front of us. But the path to true health starts by being consious and really appriciate the small and big things. When we starts to appriciate what we have, we often realize that it’s much more than we could ever imagine.

Photographer: Lina Lindbom Byggnings

One thought on “End your day with beeing grateful for what you have

  1. Hej Maria! Tack för din kommentar på mitt blogginlägg om utmattningssyndrom. Kikade in på din blogg och wow, vilket jobb du lägger ner! Såg även din presentation om IBS, faktum är att jag också har det (inte diagnostiserat, men hela släkten har det och läkarna hittar aldrig något annat fel och 99% av symtomen stämmer så jag tar för givet att det är det). När jag var som sjukast i utbrändheten (hatar det där uttrycket, vill inte se mig själv som sjuk) hade jag ont var och varannan dag, säkert till följd av stressen, alla känslor som for omkring och tyvärr den lite sämre maten/alla sötsaker jag åt då. Tack vare yogan har jag ju både lärt mig slappna av och släppa saker, men också blivit mer lyhörd för vad min kropp egentligen vill ha och behöver (inte vad hjärnan tror att den vill ha) och nu har jag inte haft ont på en och en halv månad. Inget som säger att det inte kommer tillbaka, men förhoppningsvis har jag bättre verktyg för att hantera det den här gången. Har funderat på det här med vegan-mat eller raw food i och med att jag tänker mer på vad jag stoppar i mig, men tror inte jag skulle klara det i längden (jag älskar kött och är inte superförtjust i grönsaker så att eh….). Men det går ju alltid att ha ett mellanting :) Blev iallafall inspirerad av din blogg, får ta nån dag och verkligen kolla igenom recepten och tipsen! :) Jag kommer från Mockfjärd (Gagnef) från början, men mamma bor numera i Falun och så har jag släkten lite överallt i Dalarna (och jag själv bor i Skåne) :) Om du har lust får du jättegärna skicka ett mail (josefintrogen@gmail.com) eller lägga till mig på facebook (Josefin Trogen, finns inte så många ;)), det är så skönt när man hittar någon som varit med om “samma” sak och upplever “samma” sak som man kan prata med och utbyta erfarenheter och tankar, mina kompisar förstår ju inte till 100% (och börjar tröttna på mitt yogaprat, haha!). Kanske skulle vi till och med kunna ses någon gång när jag är hemma i Dalarna (med risk för att verka alldeles för påflugen)? :) kram!

Leave a Reply

